MP: Anxiety and Stress

What about the education profession gives you anxiety or scares you? Where do you anticipate struggling the most? Can you think of an easy way to resolve these apprehensions? How so? Who can you reach out to for reassurance and support?

I think once I actually start teaching, whether it be student teaching or a paid position, I will struggle with finding my flow (aha! an old word in terms of this blog). I know I will struggle with balancing all of the tasks of teaching. I think, now, of all the classes I am taking, all of which I am not teaching, and I sometimes can’t find the energy to finish my reading or attend class – even though I try to do this. But teaching is a whole other ball game. My sister teaches here in Colorado, and it is a lot! She wakes up at 5 am every morning, gets to work at 7 or so (which is at least an hour drive), teaches all day until 4 and then drives home and arrives at 5 pm, on a good day. For all of those hours in between, she teaches and manages a classrooms, attends meetings, conducts tests, meets with parents — there is so much that a teacher is responsible for, and it seems daunting.

But when I take a step back and focus on why I want to teach and how it has become a desire in my heart, I can relax. I know this is something that I am interested in, and feel like it is something I want to do. Like I have said before, I know I don’t want to be limited by teaching, and I say this in the most loving way I can. I know I will travel the world and plant churches — so I want to be able to carry this skill and passion for teaching wherever I go. I know that as long as I continue to take a step back and see where God is leading me and what he is calling me into, I won’t have to constantly worry about deadlines, papers, lessons, meetings, conflict, etc. I can breathe easy because I know that my God is behind me and before me.

Isaiah 52:12 “But you will not go out in haste, Nor will you go as fugitives; For the LORD will go before you, And the God of Israel will be your rear guard.”

Deuteronomy 31:8 “The LORD is the one who goes ahead of you; He will be with you He will not fail you or forsake you. Do not fear or be dismayed.”

Leave a Reply

