Morning Pages: Wobbling as a Writer

In regards to the being a Teacher as Writer, I “wobble” primarily in daily practice. I don’t freely write on a daily basis. I wish I could say that I carry around a little notebook with me everyday and that I jot down different things that I observe, or that I record little spurts of inspiration – I don’t. But, I want to.

When I do write daily, inspiration flows so easily because I can expand on yesterday’s thoughts, or yesterday’s yesterday’s thoughts. It just seem easier because my writing becomes a habit rather than a requirement. However, I don’t seem to have time to write freely every day. To be honest, I would rather nap, or finish my homework, hang out with friends – because when I do sit down and write, I know I need a LOT of time to gather my thoughts, usually because I am really meticulous about editing and grammar and whatnot.

But, say I did carry around a little journal that I could take anywhere – I could record my thoughts, my observations, my frustrations, and then have material to write about later. I could also process through my thoughts better because they are on paper and I can visually see them (as I tend to be a visual and practical learner).

I wish it was already a habit. I know it used to be, but this is where I wobble. I don’t make writing my priority, and to be honest – I don’t like it will ever be my #1 priority. It’s more of a passion and a skill that I address mainly in school assignments. Now, post-education, I believe this will definitely change.

But, when I think of my future students, I want this to be a habit at an early age – just like it was for me when I was in seventh grade. It at least got me thinking, and writing.

5 thoughts on “Morning Pages: Wobbling as a Writer

  1. I definitely understand where you’re coming from here! I too wish I had more time to sit down and write casually. I love the idea of having a notebook with me everywhere so I could write down my thoughts, but alas, the busy student life I lead doesn’t allow too much artistic freedom, of any sort.

    Like

  2. I know exactly what you’re talking about! I use to write all daily, but now I can’t get in that funk again. Finding people and activities around you that inspire you can definitely help. Also, trying to find purpose in boring classrooms or negative atmospheres also can help prompt to write more.

    Like

  3. I definitely agree, it feels like there’s so much else to do other than write but at the end of the day, there’s always that desire to write for pleasure rather than academia. Carrying around a little notebook has seemed to be a constant recommendation by published authors, maybe it’s time to pick one up.

    Like

  4. I will admit that I’m one of those dorks who is always writing something. I’ll hear a thought from some passerby and I’ll write it down. However, I recently (got with the program) got a smartphone, and I’ve been using the voice-texting capability to take notes about people I see and things I notice. Just figured I’d put that out as a little writing suggestion, if a note pad is too…conspicuous.

    There’s this thing about writing sometimes. Occasionally, words will just flow. It feels so good. It’s like when you’re cutting wrapping paper and the scissors GLIDE. Mmm. But that’s rare. That’s when I don’t need to formulate my thoughts. Recently, I’ve had a series of (I’m not gonna say ‘unfortunate events’) misfortunes have happened to me, and while I can’t talk about it, I can certainly write about it. I can write in blocks, I can write when things hit my mind like flashbacks. And that’s about it. Otherwise, I’m in a block–so to speak.

    So I get what you’re saying. I think that a lot of the time with me, I’m too afraid of exploring what’s going on in my mind. I also feel like I’ll have something better to say later. Recently, I found this to not be true. I need to write in the moment. Even as things are occurring. Because otherwise, I forget. And the thought slips away. And the narrative is gone. But if you write something down (or slur it in voice-text to your phone) as it’s happening and as you experience your beautiful human existence, it will stay. Because nothing is ever forgotten, not really, and if something can be remembered, it can come back (that’s a quote from Doctor Who fyi).

    Like

  5. Sometimes I just want to take a nap, too! I share your wobbles about making writing a practice; I think every writer does. Sometimes, most times, it’s just about getting your butt in the chair. At least Morning Pages and the badge requirements have prompted you to write more frequently than you would otherwise. Thanks for letting me eavesdrop on your wobbles.

    Like

Leave a Reply

